Changing permissions for a tool in a course or a project site

Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you need to be assigned a role that has the necessary permissions. To find out what your role is, follow the directions in Participant roles. To see a list of what permissions are associated with a given role, see Permissions, roles, and tools. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and Roles: Overview.

Permissions are granted for a tool rather than for a particular item created by using a tool. For example, permissions are set for the Announcement tool, rather than for individual announcements.

Note: In Resources you can set permissions for all resources, and you can also set permissions for folders of resources.

To change permissions for a tool, follow the steps below.

  1. Open the site by clicking its tab.

  2. In the menubar, click the tool for which you want to set permissions.

  3. Click the Permissions button along the top of the main window.

  4. Check or uncheck the boxes to grant the permissions.

  5. Click Save. To change your selection, click Cancel.

Note: You must exit the permissions feature by clicking Save or Cancel before you can set permissions in another tool.

Each tool has a different set of available permissions. For a general idea of the permissions available, see the list below of permissions for the Schedule tool:


This is document ardk.
Last modified on December 05, 2005.