Overriding an autocalculated course grade

Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you need to be assigned a role that has the necessary permissions. To find out what your role is, follow the directions in Participant roles. To see a list of what permissions are associated with a given role, see Permissions, roles, and tools. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and Roles: Overview.

The Gradebook automatically calculates a course grade that's a percentage of current points scored out of the total points possible for all assignments. Therefore, the autocalculated course grade can be accurate only when all assignments are graded. If ungraded assignments are present, they will count as 0 points scored, and the resulting course grade will not accurately reflect the student's cumulative score.

By default, the option for displaying a course grade is disabled, and students see only their cumulative scores and the scores for each of their assignments. To display a course grade to students, click Grade Options, place a checkmark in the box next to "Display course grades to students now", and then click Save.

To override the autocalculated course grade, and enter a grade to display that reflects a student's true running course grade, follow these steps:

  1. In the menubar, click Gradebook. If you are not already on the Overview page of the Gradebook tool, click Overview near the top of the window.

  2. At the bottom of the assignment list, click Course Grade.

  3. On the resulting page, you will see a list of enrolled students and their calculated course grades. In the "Grade Override" column, enter the new course grade(s) with which you want to replace the autocalculated grade(s).

    Note: When manually entering a course grade, you must use the appropriate grade type for the Gradebook in which you are working. For example, if the course is graded on a simple letter grade scale, you will only be able to enter the letters  A ,  B ,  C ,  D , or  F . If the course is graded on a standard letter grade scale, you will also be able to add  +  (plus sign) or  -  (minus sign) to the letter grade. If the course is graded on a pass/fail scale, you will only be able to enter the letters  P  or NP .

  4. When you have finished updating any course grades you want to change, click Save.

If you have overridden a course grade, and you want to revert back to the autocalculated grade, do the following:

  1. In the menubar, click Gradebook. If you are not already on the Overview page of the Gradebook tool, click Overview near the top of the window.

  2. At the bottom of the assignment list, click Course Grade.

  3. On the resulting page, you will see a list of enrolled students. If you have overridden a course grade for a student, you will see the grade you manually entered in an editable field in the "Grade Override" column. To revert back to the autocalculated course grade, delete the manually entered grade and click Save.

    Note: You will have to delete the manually entered grade and click Save for each grade you want to change back.


This is document arbv.
Last modified on December 13, 2005.