Creating/adding, editing, or deleting an assignment

On this page:


Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you need to be assigned a role that has the necessary permissions. To find out what your role is, follow the directions in Participant roles. To see a list of what permissions are associated with a given role, see Permissions, roles, and tools. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and Roles: Overview.

Create/add a new assignment

To create/add a new assignment, follow these steps:

  1. In the menubar, click Assignments, and then click New Assignment at the top of the page.

  2. In the web form that opens, fill in the following information (fields marked with a red dot are required):


  3. In the "Assignment Instructions" box, type a description of the assignment.

    Note: This step is optional, but you will receive an alert message at the top of the page when you post the assignment if you leave it blank. Click Post a second time to proceed.

  4. Under the text box for Assignment Instructions, you will see three options, as follows:

Back to top

Preview, save a draft, or post

Click Preview if you wish to review your assignment before you post it. To see how it will look to students, click the black triangle next to Student View.

Click Save draft if you want to save your assignment before you post it. You can then go back to it and revise it, if you want, before you post it. Only instructors (or those with the proper permissions) can view drafts.

Click Post when you are ready to make the assignment live.

Back to top

Revise an assignment

You can revise a posted assignment either before or after its open date or due date. Follow these steps:

  1. In the menubar, click the Assignments button.

  2. Under the assignment you wish to modify, click Revise.

  3. Make your revisions in the assignment.

  4. After you have made your revisions, you can post or preview your assignment. If you choose to preview it, you will then have the option to post it or to save it as a draft.

    Note: If the assignment is currently open to students, you will only have the options of previewing and posting the assignment.

When students view the revised assignment, they will be notified that changes have been made.

Back to top

Delete an assignment

To delete an assignment, follow these steps:

  1. In the menubar, click the Assignments button. You will see a list of assignments.

  2. Check the box under Remove? next to the assignment you want to delete.

  3. Click the Update button.

  4. You will see a confirmation screen asking if you are sure you want to delete the assignment. Click Delete to permanently delete it, or Cancel if you've changed your mind.
Back to top
This is document arbs.
Last modified on December 13, 2005.