Creating/adding, editing, and deleting work sites

On this page:


Creating/adding a work site

To create a work site, follow these steps:

  1. In your My Workspace menubar, click Worksite Setup.

  2. At the top of the Worksite Setup page, click New.

  3. Under "Creating a new site", click the radio button next to course website or project website to choose the type of site you want to create. For a course site, you'll also need to use the "Academic term:" drop-down list to select the proper term.

  4. Click Continue.

Course sites

If you choose to create a course site, continue with the following steps (or, for project sites, skip to Project sites):

  1. Under "Creating a New Class Site", select the course sections that will be included in the course site by checking the appropriate boxes.

  2. To add a roster that does not appear in the list, check the box next to I want to give access to a roster not listed above.

  3. Click Continue.

  4. If you chose to add a roster not appearing on the list, you will be prompted to manually enter class information in various fields. To add more than one roster, in the "Add More Roster(s)?" drop-down list, select the number of additional rosters you want to add. You might also have to enter the username of someone authorized to allow a roster or rosters site access along with a message containing any special instructions for your request. Click Continue.

  5. Under "Class Information", you have the option of typing a long and/or short description of your site. The long description will appear on your site's home page; the short description will appear in the public list of all sites on the system.

  6. To change the appearance of your site, choose a skin from the "Appearance (Icon):" drop-down list.

  7. In the "Site Contact Name:" and "Site Contact Email:" fields, enter the name and email address of the person whom participants can contact if they have problems or questions.

  8. Click Continue.

  9. Under "Tools", click the boxes to place checkmarks next to the tools you want on your site. If you select the following tools, you will see a form for more information:


  10. You have the option of re-using material from other sites you own. Choose one of the following:


  11. Click Continue.

  12. Under "Site Status", select Publish site to make it available to site participants. If you don't want to publish your site at this time, you can do it later through Site Info. For instructions, see the document Publishing or unpublishing a site.

    Also, you can make it so that your site can be joined by anyone with authorization to log into the system. To do so, follow these steps:

    1. Click to place a checkmark in the box next to Can be joined by anyone with authorization to log in.
    2. Use the drop-down list to select a role to assign people who join your site.

  13. Click Continue.

  14. Under "Confirm Your Site Setup", review your site information. If changes are required, click Back. If the information is correct, click Request Site to submit your course site request.
Back to top

Project sites

If you choose to create a project site, continue with the following steps:

  1. Under "Project Information", in the "Site Title:" field, type a title for your site.

  2. In the corresponding fields, you have the option of typing a long and/or short description of your site. The long description will appear on your site's home page; the short description appears in the public list of all sites on the system.

  3. If you'd like to use an icon image, provide its URL in the "Icon URL:" field.

  4. In the "Site Contact Name:" and "Site Contact Email:" fields, enter the name and email address of the person whom participants can contact if they have problems or questions.

  5. Click Continue.

  6. Under "Tools", click a box to place a checkmark next to the tools you want to provide on your site, and click Continue.


  7. You have the option of re-using material from other sites you own. Choose one of the following:


  8. Under "Set Site Access", select Publish site to make it available to site participants. If you don't want to publish your site at this time, you can do it later through Site Info. For instructions, see Publishing or unpublishing a site.

  9. To indicate who can access your site, choose from the following Global Access options:

    Also, you can make it so that your site can be joined by anyone with authorization to log into the system. To do so, follow these steps:

    1. Click to place a checkmark in the box next to Can be joined by anyone with authorization to log in.
    2. Use the drop-down list to select a role to assign people who join your site.

  10. Click Continue.

  11. Under "Confirm Your Site Setup", review the information about your site. If it's correct, click Create Site. If you need to make changes, click Back.

Your new site will be listed in My Workspace on the Worksite Setup page.

Back to top

Editing a site

To edit a site you created, follow these steps:

  1. In your My Workspace menubar, click Worksite Setup.

  2. Click the box to place a checkmark next to the site you want to edit. Then, at the top of the Worksite Setup page, click Revise.

  3. To edit the site title, description, short description, icon URL, site contact name, or site contact email, click Edit Site Information.

  4. To add or remove tools from your site, click Edit Tools.

  5. To change the publishing status of your site, modify who can see or join your site, and determine the default role for people who join, click Manage Access.

  6. To add participants and assign them participant roles, click Add Participants.

  7. To create an exact duplicate of your site that includes only material posted by the instructor, click Duplicate Site.

  8. To add material from another site you own, click Import from Site.

    Note: You can re-use material only from other sites that you own. You can combine material from more than one site.

  9. To import materials from a pre-existing file, click Import from File.
Back to top

Deleting a site

To delete a work site that you created, follow these steps:

  1. In your My Workspace menubar, click Worksite Setup.

  2. Click the box to place a checkmark next to the site you want to delete. Then, at the top of the Worksite Setup page, click Delete.

    Note: Deleting a site removes the entire site's content and cannot be undone. No one else will be able to access the deleted site.

  3. Click Remove.
Back to top


This is document aqzr.
Last modified on December 13, 2005.